e n g l i s h f r a n ç a i s
i n s t a g r a m f a c e b o o k e t s y l i n k e d i n

Ben Kiernan

Le Monde Idée - Press illustration

"Ben Kiernan, Cambodia in the skin."

The Australian historian founded the program on the Cambodian genocide in 1994. Since then, thanks to an exceptional endowment from the American State, he unearths the archives of this country so that the mass killings perpetrated by the Khmer Rouge, between 1975 and 1979, be recognized as genocide by international justice.

Excerpt :
The Khmer Rouge continued to haunt him. After having devoted forty years of research and a dozen books to them, the Australian historian Ben Kiernan continues to wear steel in the wounds, tirelessly. “For me, one question remains unanswered: how did the Khmer Rouge leaders see the land and environment of Cambodia, and how did they turn Cambodians into forced laborers to change the environment and focus on a agricultural economy? This question will be the subject of an important chapter in his next book devoted to the environmental history of Cambodia from the Ice Age to the present day.

He also works on the violence in Cambodia in the 19th century. At the end of 2017, he visited the French colonial archives in Aix-en-Provence. Immersed in the boxes containing rare texts from the 19th century in the Cambodian language, this Khmer speaker ended up finding the nugget: a writing on a sheet of rice, dating from 1884, announcing a rebellion against the French who had imposed their protectorate in 1863.

©Copyright Sarah Nyangué 2020

e n g l i s h f r a n ç a i s
i n s t a g r a m f a c e b o o k e t s y

Ben Kiernan

Le Monde Idée - illustration de presse

"Ben Kiernan, le Cambodge dans la peau."

L’historien australien a fondé le programme sur le génocide cambodgien en 1994. Depuis, grâce à une dotation exceptionnelle de l’Etat américain, il exhume les archives de ce pays afin que les massacres de masse perpétrés par les Khmers rouges, entre 1975 et 1979, soient reconnus comme génocide auprès de la justice internationale.

Extrait :
Les Khmers rouges n’ont pas fini de le hanter. Après leur avoir consacré quarante ans de recherches et une dizaine d’ouvrages, l’historien australien Ben Kiernan continue de porter le fer dans la plaie, inlassablement. « Pour moi, une question reste en suspens : quel regard les dirigeants khmers rouges portaient-ils sur la terre et l’environnement du Cambodge, et comment ont-ils transformé les Cambodgiens en travailleurs forcés pour modifier l’environnement et se concentrer sur une économie agricole ? »Cette interrogation fera l’objet d’un important chapitre dans son prochain ouvrage consacré à l’histoire environnementale du Cambodge de l’ère glaciaire à nos jours.

Il travaille également sur les violences au Cambodge au XIXe siècle. Fin 2017, il s’est rendu aux archives coloniales françaises d’Aix-en-Provence. Plongé dans les cartons contenant des textes rares du XIXe siècle en langue cambodgienne, ce khmérophone a fini par trouver la pépite : un écrit sur une feuille de riz, datant de 1884, annonçant une rébellion contre les Français qui avaient imposé leur protectorat en 1863.

©Copyright Sarah Nyangué 2020